They Say It’s My Birthday…

18 Mar

Yesterday was my 32nd birthday, and as I emerge from the beer and champagne-induced haze from the weekend’s celebrations, I can’t help but think about getting older (seriously, I feel like just yesterday I was buying Clearasil at CVS and now I’m spending $40 on anti-aging serums, what?!) and all of the things that I would like to accomplish in the coming years, however trivial they seem. So, because I love a good list, below are my goals for my 33rd year…

  • Be able to pull off red lipstick
  • Travel abroad alone
  • Run a 5K
  • Upgrade my organizational skills to the point where my bedroom isn’t reminiscent of an episode of Hoarders
  • Take a photography class
  • Be able to cook at least one dish without referring to the recipe
  • Read Anna Karenina
  • Finish On the Road
  • Attempt bike commuting
  • Learn how to properly apply eye shadow (why do you need three colors, isn’t one enough?)
  • Go to SXSW
  • Be able to do 10 proper push-ups
  • Find the perfect pair of jeans
  • Learn to drink red wine without getting a wine mustache on the left side of my mouth (It’s always just on the one side…apparently my mouth is lopsided)
  • Floss every day
  • Go to at least one concert a month
  • Stop getting sucked into the KFC drive-thru
  • Not get any parking tickets (this may actually be the hardest)
  • And finally, blog at least once a week

Image via Pinterest

3 Responses to “They Say It’s My Birthday…”

  1. Charlie Dent March 18, 2013 at 7:37 pm #

    All of your goals for your 33rd year are really admirable! But at my age, I can’t imagine someone of your age buying anti-aging creams. But I’m a guy, so what do I know? It would be cool, though, if you would add a visit to the Strange Brew Tavern in Manchester, NH to your 2013-14 bucket list. We would be so happy to meet you, and we think you would like our beer selection. Happy Birthday!

  2. beermebartender March 20, 2013 at 5:47 pm #

    Happy Birthday, K! Awesome list, and I have no doubt you can CRUSH that list :). Perhaps I can be of any help in the recipe department, and I’ll share one of my go-to dishes:

    Marinated Tuna Steaks
    Need: Tuna steak(s), minced garlic, soy sauce, dijon mustard, and orange juice.

    Combine the garlic, soy sauce, dijon and OJ in whatever proportion you like (I really like Dijon so I use more of that). Marinate the thawed tuna steaks for as litte or as long as you’d like (up to about a day; good to prep in morning and cook for dinner).

    3 minute sear on the Foreman grill. I like to cook to rare-medium rare (mmm combines best of cooked fish and sushi :) ).

    Serve over lettuce and I use the remaining marinade as a dressing.

    Prep time: 5 minutes

    It’s sounds waaaaay more complicated than it is when I right it down hahaha. Cheers!

  3. Stacey Nelson March 21, 2013 at 1:30 am #

    Love your goal to travel abroad by yourself. I went to Italy last year alone it was wonderful! I am 12 years older than you and I am also baffled by the eye shadow thing. It just takes 3 times as long to apply! I wish you luck on accomplishing your goals for the year!

Leave a Reply

